James LaBrie

Album Title: 
Impermanent Resonance
Release Date: 
Monday, July 29, 2013
Review Type: 

In between touring and recording albums with Dream Theater, frontman James LaBrie found time to release a new solo album titled ‘Impermanent Resonance’. After two albums with the group name MullMuzzler, this is his third album running under his own name. Not only did partner in crime Matt Guillory again take a leading role in the composing of the song material but he also handled all of the keyboards as well as backing vocals. Twelve tracks were recorded with twoi additional tracks for the limited digipack edition.  

In essence this album doesn’t change much with the previous ‘Static Impulse’. Again the songs are dynamic and powerful where the raw guitar parts alternate with atmospheric keyboards. Yet the level of both catchiness and heaviness is slightly increased with his predecessor. In contrast to Dream Theater, LaBrie’s vocals are given more space here and everything sounds less forced which is refreshing. And although there’s little to none progressive elements, this album should easily appeal to Dream Theater fans as well. All in all, this is a fine album without any bad nor exceptional songs.