Lacuna Coil

Album Title: 
Broken Crown Halo
Release Date: 
Monday, March 31, 2014
Review Type: 

Lacuna Coil is an Italian metal band from Milan. Since their formation in 1994, the group has had two name changes, being previously known as Sleep of Right and Ethereal. The current members are; Cristina Scabbia – vocals, Andrea Ferro – vocals, Marco “Maus” Biazzi – guitar, Cristiano “Pizza” Migliore – guitar, Marco “Maki” Coti-Zelati – bass and Cristiano “Criz” Mozzati – drums.

After many EP’s, singles, DVD and compilation albums their seventh full album “Broken Crown Halo”. What they know is a winning formula you never change. To start the album a great opener “Nothing Stands in Our Way” start very heavy but when Scabbia begins to sing every melts down in a soft/heavy balance. Second track “Zombies” much heavier with some dominant nu-metal riffs not bad but is not new, the riffs are to standard and don’t add some depth in the song. Sometime the guitar riffs are annoys and boring. Their past album is much better, more intense and stable. But one track “I Forgive (But I Won’t Forget Your Name)” can be a radio hit, much potential when they bring it out as a single. But all by all this entire album is not what I expected after “Dark Adrenaline”. Buy their previous work, this album is not the best album to introduce Lacuna coil, start at “Karmacode”.